Fountain Valley News - Your Hometown Community Newspaper

Mourning Doves


Last updated 6/12/2019 at 4:28pm

Doug Harling

A Mourning Dove

One of several species of dove that we see in El Paso County are the

Mourning doves. The Mourning dove may also be called "the Rain dove"

or "the Turtle dove." The Mourning doves are the most common of the dove

species throughout North America. To me, they are the most beautiful of the

doves. In El Paso County, you will see the Mourning doves, Eurasian Collared

dove and the White Winged dove. I have heard of Inca doves being seen here

but I have not been lucky enough to find one.

The Mourning doves do migrate south from here during the winter so we

go about six months out of the years witho...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 09/08/2020 15:46