Fountain Valley News - Your Hometown Community Newspaper

Important details for this election


Last updated 10/7/2020 at 10:42am

Karin Hill

Debi B. of Fountain encouraged passersby to sign the petition to recall Gov. Jared Polis near Metcalfe Park on Saturday. Information on the recall effort, including signing locations and schedule, can be found at

With election season upon us, it's important to know the basics about local candidates, how to vote and which issues will be covered in this year's ballot.

Colorado counties will mail ballots to registered voters Oct. 9-Oct. 16. Ballot drop boxes (which will be open 24 hours a day) will be open Oct. 9 through 7 p.m. on Election Day (Nov. 3). Colorado citizens can register and vote in person any time up to 7 p.m. on Election Day. To find the nearest ballot drop box, go to

To verify voter registration, go to the Colorado Secretary of State's website ( and click "view my voter record" or "register to vote." Go to the appropriate page and fill in the information, including name, ZIP code and birth date (people registering as new voters must also include driver's license and Social Security number). To change registration information, go to "view my voter record" and then click on a following link to edit the record.

Voters can also use the Secretary of State website to arrange a petition to recall state officials, which must be approved by the Secretary of State's office and can only be created after the official has been in office for 6 months (the exception being General Assembly members, who can be recalled after 5 days). At the moment, there is a petition going around to recall Governor Jared Polis, citing abuse of emergency powers, spending money from the CARES Act fund without consulting Colorado's legislative government, issuing the "unconstitutional Executive Order D2020065" and discriminating against houses of worship. The petition needs to collect 631,266 by Nov. 13. To read more about that particular petition, go to

To read more about the recall petition process, go to

Various changes to Colorado's state constitution will be included in this year's ballot. Specifically, the ballot will include the following state initiatives:

Amendment B: Repeal Gallagher Amendment

Amendment C: Conduct of Charitable Gaming

Amendment 76: Citizenship Qualification of Voters

Amendment 77: Local Voter Approval of Casino Bet Limits and Games in Black Hawk, Central City, and Cripple Creek

Proposition EE: Taxes on Nicotine Products

Proposition 113: Adopt Agreement to Elect U.S. President by National Popular Vote Citizens /a Simple Majority Vote to Pass

Proposition 114: Reintroduction and Management of Gray Wolves

Proposition 115: Prohibit Abortions After 22 Weeks

Proposition 116: State Income Tax Rate Reduction

Proposition 117: Voter Approval for Certain New State Enterprises

Proposition 118: Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program

To read more about each state initiative, go to

The following individuals are running for state and local government positions, and will be noted on the ballot:

The candidates for Congressional District 5 are Jillian Freeland (Democrat), Doug Lamborn (Republican) and Ed Duffet (Libertarian), Rebecca Keltie (Unity) and Marcus Allen Murphy (Unaffiliated).

The State House candidates for District 21 are Liz Rosenbaum (Democrat), Mary Bradfield (Republican) and Michael Seebeck (Libertarian).

The State Senate District 12 candidates are Electra Johnson (Democrat), Bob Gardner (Republican) and Zechariah L. Harris (Libertarian).

Michael Allen (Republican) is the only candidate running for District Attorney for the 4th Judicial District.

The U.S. Senate candidates for Colorado are John Hickenlooper (Democrat), Cory Gardner (Republican) and Raymon Anthony Doane (Libertarian), Daniel Doyle (Approval Voting) and Stephan "Seku" Evans (Unity).

The candidates for County Commissioner District 4 are Andre Vigil (Democrat), Longinos Gonzalez (Republican) and Victoria Ciraolo (Libertarian).

To read the candidates from other parties or other offices, see the June 2020 primary election's full results at


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021