Fountain Valley News - Your Hometown Community Newspaper

County Democrats elect new leaders


Last updated 2/9/2021 at 1:16pm | View PDF

The El Paso County Democratic Party held its biennial county-level reorganizational meeting on Feb. 6. The County Central Committee elected new leadership for the Executive Committee and delegates to the Colorado Democratic Party’s Executive and Central Committees. Reorganization meetings for the State House, State Senate and County Commissioner districts will follow in the coming week.

To protect the well-being of participants during the current COVID pandemic, the meeting was conducted virtually via webinar. The meeting concluded with an orderly transition of local party officers and a high degree of unity among local Democrats.

The local party’s Central Committee elected the following officers for a two-year term:

County Chair - John Mikos

1st Vice Chair - Amy Paschal

2nd Vice Chair – Liz Rosenbaum

Secretary - Jenna Dukehart

Treasurer – Lynne Brown

The outgoing County Chair, Electra Johnson, served for the past four years during a period of tremendous success for local Democrats. During the 2020 Presidential elections, El Paso County had a 11.37-percent voter swing away from former President Trump and to President Biden compared to the 2016 election results. This was the largest shift in the entire country for a metro area of its size, according to New York Times analysis.

The incoming County Chair, John Mikos, made the following statement:

“I am grateful to our past County Chair, Electra Johnson, and the entire Executive Committee team for leading our local Democratic party organization to such a strong place. There is a tremendous energy and enthusiasm amongst local Democrats. We still have much work ahead of us and a challenging upcoming election cycle in 2022. It is gratifying to know our Democratic party will continue to provide working families of El Paso County with candidates who better reflect the needs of our community.”

The El Paso County Democratic Party is the official local representative of Democratic party and is established in accordance with the by-laws and rules of the Colorado Democratic Party and Democratic National Committee.

More information about the El Paso County Democratic Party and the Colorado Democratic Party is available at and


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022

Rendered 01/14/2023 11:56