Fountain Valley News - Your Hometown Community Newspaper

CO cracking down on seat belts

 

Last updated 6/23/2021 at 9:30am | View PDF



As summer travel picks up again, the Colorado Department of Transportation and 63 law enforcement agencies throughout Colorado partnered for the largest statewide Click It or Ticket enforcement period of the year, May 24-June 6. A total of 2,123 drivers were cited, including 58 drivers who had an improperly restrained child under the age of 15 in their vehicle.

The Colorado Springs Police Department reported 285 violations. This included 269 citations for unbelted adults, 11 citations for unbelted teens or juveniles and 5 citations for improperly restrained small children. The El Paso County Sheriff’s office issued 48 seat belt citations.

Fines for not buckling up start at $65, and parents or caregivers caught with an improperly restrained child can receive a minimum fine of $82.

In 2020, 203 unbuckled drivers and passengers were killed in crashes in the state, accounting for more than half of Colorado’s 365 total passenger vehicle deaths.

Statewide, Colorado’s seatbelt use is 86 percent, which is 4 percent lower than the national average of 90.

CDOT has partnered with officials in Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming to remind travelers to always wear seat belt as they travel this summer. The “State2State Buckle Up” campaign will run all summer.

COLORADO’S SEAT BELT LAWS

Adults — Colorado has a secondary enforcement law for adult drivers and front-seat passengers. Drivers can be ticketed for violating the seat belt law if they are stopped for another traffic violation.

Teens — Colorado’s Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) law requires all drivers under 18 and their passengers, regardless of age, to wear seat belts. This is a primary enforcement, meaning teens can be pulled over simply for not wearing a seat belt or having passengers without seat belts.

Children — A driver can be stopped and ticketed if an officer sees an unrestrained or improperly restrained child under age 16 in the vehicle.

 

Reader Comments(0)

 
 

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022