Fountain Valley News - Your Hometown Community Newspaper

CO military bases get new names


Last updated 7/28/2021 at 9:59am

Peterson Air Force Base, Schriever AFB and Cheyenne Mountain Air Force Station have been renamed to better reflect their role in the U.S. Space Force.

Following a ceremony July 26 at Peterson AFB, the three locations adopted the monikers Schriever Space Force Base, Peterson Space Force Base, and Cheyenne Mountain Space Force Station. The three installations are home to vital parts of the nation’s space control, surveillance and command missions.

U.S. Space Force Gen. John “Jay” Raymond, chief of space operations, will preside over the ceremony, along with USSF Col. Zachary “Shay”...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 09/18/2021 17:28