Fountain Valley News - Your Hometown Community Newspaper

Local Election Results

Fountain city races, Security Fire, area school boards


Last updated 11/6/2021 at 1:06pm

As of Thursday evening, Sharon Thompson maintains her lead over Detra Duncan in the race for mayor of Fountain with nearly 53 percent of the vote.

Other issues of interest include Security Fire Protection District's 6A, which asked voters to approve a 6.4-mill increase to fund the fire department's needs. It is passing with 62 percent in favor at this time.

Results from the Nov. 2 Coordinated Election, including candidates and issues for voters in Fountain and Security-Widefield, will be posted and updated periodically starting Election Night and over the next few days as votes continue to be counted.

Results released on Election Night are posted as "unofficial." This is due to military and overseas ballots that are afforded extra time for delivery after Election Day, and voters with signature or identification issues who are given time to resolve their issue. Voters in those categories have eight days after the election to resolve their issue or return their ballot.

Results are deemed "official" when the bipartisan canvass board validates the results. The last day for the canvass to be completed is Friday, Nov. 26.

Here are the most recent results for races in the Fountain Valley area, as well as the three statewide ballot measures.

Although the results are not final, Sharon Thompson is considered the presumptive winner for mayor of Fountain at this point. She has served on the City Council for eight years. Current Mayor Gabe Ortega is term limited and is not seeking another office at this time.

"Thank you to everyone who voted and supported me in this race," Thompson said. "I am humbled and honored! This was not accomplished alone! I would like to thank everyone that helped in so many ways: walking, phone calls, honk/waves, but most of all with encouragement and praying with me. I look forward to working WITH the citizens of Fountain."

Fountain Mayor

Detra Duncan: 1,843

Sharon Thompson: 2,057

Fountain City Council

Ward 1 (one seat):

Gordon Rick: 624

Christopher Curl: 510

Ward 3 (one seat):

Cory Applegate: 737

Marcia Gieck: 357

At-Large (one seat):

Fredrick Hinton (unopposed): 2,811

Fountain-Fort Carson School District 8

FFC8 has three vacancies for its Board of Education – two for four years, and one for two years.

Two-year term (one seat):

Rose Terrell: 2,734

Four-year-term (two seats):

Kenneth Coffee Jr.: 1,535

Michelle Massaro (incumbent): 1,362

Shirley Martinez: 1,448

Widefield School District 3

WSD3 has three vacancies for its Board of Education, all for four years.

David Dock: 3,089 (2nd place)

Gregory Fisher: 2,850 (3rd place)

Dolly Handel: 2,346

Maria Dale Peterson-Henderson: 1,776

Susan Waller-Graham (incumbent): 2,675

Donna Walsh: 3,262 (1st place)

WSD3 also had two write-in candidates:

Brenda S. Miller:

Yevgeniya Tsyganok:

(Results not available yet.)

El Paso County 1A--TABOR issue

Yes: 75,418

No: 92,070

Security Fire Protection District 6A--Mill increase of 6.4 mills

Yes: 4,438

No: 2,683

School board results as of late Tuesday evening.

State Ballot Issues

Amendment 78 (State appropriation of monies):

Yes: 43.65 percent

No: 56.35 percent

Proposition 119 (Marijuana tax):

Yes: 45.5 percent

No: 54.5 percent

Proposition 120 (Property tax reductions):

Yes: 43 percent

No: 57 percent


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021