State to send rebate checks this summer
Last updated 7/12/2022 at 3:21pm | View PDF
On May 23, Gov. Jared Polis signed a new law (Senate Bill 22-233) to give Coloradans a tax rebate of $750 for individual filers and $1,500 for joint filers this summer. This law will result in the state sending residents a check this summer instead of spring of 2023.
If you’ve already filed your Colorado state income tax return, you’re all set! You will receive your Colorado Cash Back check by Sept. 30.
To receive your Colorado Cash Back Check, you must have filed your Colorado state income tax return or applied for a property tax, rent, or heat credit rebate (commonly known as the PTC Rebate) by June 30.
Extended filers who have a deadline of Oct. 17 will receive the refund by Jan. 31, 2023.
Make sure you have a current and correct address on record with the Colorado Department of Revenue, as the checks will be mailed to your last known address. If you need to update your address, you can either do so by logging into or creating an account on Revenue Online or by submitting a completed Address Change Form (DR 1102).
Who qualifies for Colorado Cash Back?
An individual who:
was at least 18 years old on Dec. 31, 2021;
was a full-year resident of the state of Colorado in 2021; and
either filed a state income tax return for the 2021 tax year on or before June 30 (or on extension by October 17, 2022); or applied and qualified for the Property Tax/Rent/Heat Credit (PTC) Rebate for the 2021 grant year by June 30.
For more details and frequently asked questions, visit https://tax.colorado.gov/cash-back.